Book Review – Love Gone Mad

Image

Title: Love Gone Mad

Author: Mark Rubinstein

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Length: 348

Rating: 2 Star

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

When heart surgeon Adrian Douglas and Megan Haggarty, RN, meet at the hospital where they work, neither has any idea of the scorpion’s nest into which they’ve stumbled. Strange and frightening events begin happening to each of them; someone is after them both–and the stalker is not only brilliant and crafty, but vows to exact revenge for the ultimate betrayal. As things spin out of control, Megan and Adrian fight for their lives.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I was pleasantly reading through this book for about 30% of it. Then I realised that it was still going and I was only 30% through it. Things went downhill from their. It was not a good start to the 2014 reading of the year.

Like all NetGalley books this had random bits of structural and spelling failures so I am just going to move past it.

The dialogue in this book could have been better. At times it was staggered and unrealistic. I think if people talked liked that it would be just as hard to listen to it as it was to read. There was a line asking the bad guy how he smelt something on someone. It frustrated me greatly. Though the thing he said he could smell was that his daughter wasn’t his own, and thats not normally something you can smell (in this book it is) but the way the line was phrased got to me. How do people normally smell you idiot…

It repeats itself a lot, hypes things up that aren’t shocking or anything along those lines, and doesn’t stick to perspectives in a way that makes sense. It jumps from person to person sometimes without warning and quite often stays with the perspective I think that  was the more boring and outside the interesting parts. There are also moments which are seriously coincidental and the fact that there is more than one of them blew the chance of me accepting that it could actually happen. The book lost points here and It was hard for me to keep reading.

However when something action packed was happening, it did it very well. The description in these part was very captivating and had me sitting on the edge of my seat. My favourite section was when she was trapped in the elevator. I am horrified of elevators breaking on me and I am claustrophobic at times so her horror was my horror.

Leave a Reply

