Book Review – Losing It

Image

Title: Losing It [Losing it 1]

Author: Cora Carmack

Genre: Romance

Length: 184

Rating: 5 Star

Release Date: March 28th 2013

Series Review: 1, 1.5, 233.5

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Love.Romance. Sex. There’s a first time for everything…
As far as Bliss Edwards can tell, she’s the last virgin standing, certainly amongst her friends. And she’s determined to deal with the ‘problem’ as quickly and simply as possible.
But her plan for a no-strings one night stand turns out to be anything but simple. Especially when she arrives for her first class and recognises her hot new British professor.
She’d left him naked in her bed just 8 hours earlier…

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I was immensely happy the entire time I was reading this and just could not put it down. With such obvious passion from the author, it was nearly impossible to not fall in love with her brilliantly crafted characters and get swept away as the story unfolds.

I got this book from the author off of NetGalley, and I am so happy that the author allowed me to read it. Most time these days I pick up a romance novel with the mind set of and now for another trashy romance novel… Regardless of whether or not I enjoy the trashy kind, I can’t tell you how refreshing it was to find it was not the case here. Even though the book seems to start off faced paced, it isn’t at all. It moves along at a pace that the book itself, you, and even the main character Bliss, are perfectly happy to move along at.

At first I was sceptical about our main characters name… Bliss… It certainly didn’t really help me not to think of the trashy kind of romance novel to say the least. But as I read on and got to know Bliss through her delightful and just down right funny inner dialogue I found that she had that name because it was her name. She couldn’t have any other. It was a kind of funny ironic fit considering pretty much nothing ever seems to work out quite as ‘blissfully’ as she always hopes.

Throughout the book I was continuing laughing at things that were said/happening. For example~

‘ “I have a cat! I do!” Damn it… why couldn’t I ever remember my imaginary cat’s gender? “Umm… she’s grey and adorable and her name is…” I said the first thing that popped into my head, “Hamlet.”

I was a genius.’

I can’t even to begin to tell you what that line did to me. Just thinking about it makes me want to just go back and read it again so that the warmth I felt the first time around can be felt over again and last just that little bit longer.

Encase it wasn’t obvious enough, I highly recommend this book. If you are a lover of romance novels and want a heart warming and loveable change from the more erotic sex based books, pick up a copy of Losing It.

Leave a Reply

