From Book to Movie – The Host

Image

Title: The Host

Genre: Post-Apoctalipctic Paranormal Romance, Science Fiction

Rating: 2 (maybe 3) Star

Book Review

Description/Synopsis:

When an unseen enemy threatens mankind by taking over their bodies and erasing their memories, Melanie will risk everything to protect the people she cares most about, proving that love can conquer all in a dangerous new world.

Movie Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I don’t remember much of what happened in this movie. This is not because it has been about 2 weeks since I saw the movie (I saw it the night it came out), but thats the way the movie was. I didn’t really remember anything the second I stepped out of the cinema. It was hysterically terribly and completely forgettable.

So why the maybe 3 star? Well if its not so bad that you have been scared for life because of it, then its borderline right? I dunno either… There were seconds in there where I grew really quite angry at the changes they made, despite the fact that I was trying really hard to not take what was happening seriously. When I succeeded in the not taking it seriously, It was hysterical just h0w poorly some things were done.

My friend and I were probably the loudest people in the cinema. We laughed our butts off, and so did other people there who obviously read the book too. I felt a bit sorry for the guy a row in front of me who was obviously taking it seriously and hand’t read the book.. but there was no stopping the hysteria.

It was done better than Twilight I feel, ans this I mainly chalk up to the actors being better than those in Twilight, though I don’t feel that they were well chosen for the characters they were supposed to portray.

For lack of a better word, from the bits that I do remember, the love scenes were a bit… rapey. Everything was over dramatic and most the time it just seemed like it was being forced and at least one of the people apart of the scene was not enjoying themselves. Though this kinda happened in the book, you get info about why and what not which is not offered here. Really they just didnt do the depth of the love issues at all. It was looked over, but I suppose they couldnt do a 600+ book which is pretty much just complete development of the love between everyone they just couldn’t get it in there and tried to cover it up with over dramatic lines that never happened like “Sleep with me!”

I think the most ridiculous thing that happened though was at the end. They are in the desert and Mel and Jared finally get to be together and they go outside to have a happy ‘yay us’ kiss, and it suddenly starts to rain so they can kiss in the rain. All, if there was much, respect for the movie was lost at this point. You already had them kiss in poorly constructed rain scene earlier, the rain didn’t sudden need to happen for this last kiss… completely unbelievable.

2 thoughts on “From Book to Movie – The Host

    • Im not sure if it is a reflection of Stephenie Meyer so much, the book I really enjoyed, but It wasn’t really a book that works for the ‘we must have action and lots of steamy love scenes’ mind frame of movie directors/writers these days.

Leave a Reply

