Book Review – Maelyn

Image

Title: Maelyn (Book one of The Nine Princessess Novellas)

Author: Anite Valle

Genre: Teen Mythology Fiction

Length: 140

Rating: 2 Star

Description/Synopsis:

Months later, the king returned home and presented his astonished queen with not one, but nine baby girls. “One from each kingdom I visited,” said the king. “They are orphans.” The queen wept joyously at the row of cradles, each bearing a sleeping infant. After bestowing a kiss on each child’s forehead she said, “Now they are princesses.”

Book 1: Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by the Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.

By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful of urchins raised into royalty. Even Uncle Jarrod, the High King of Grunwold, seems determined to prove that Maelyn no longer deserves to be a princess. With a family losing faith in her, and a kingdom growing dangerously hostile, even Maelyn begins to wonder if she is truly a real princess. And if her riches will turn to rags once again….

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I was disappointed with this book. Don’t know why but I was expecting it to far better than it was.

The story itself was interesting, but there wasn’t enough of it in this one section of the series to really get into it. The back story that is mentioned is really quite interesting and I wish I had more of it, but I don’t think that its going to happen. It seems to be very focussed on the future. I plan on getting the rest in the series at some point so I can know if the story becomes more full and complete. The things that let it down in this section where that things were sped through (though this might be because of the whole novella thing), and the writing style was very stale and rigid.

The characters were very bland on the scale of things, minor difference between the very few you actually got to meet (there are 9 princesses but you only get a glimpse of about 4 princesses personalities) and I never got to feel any attachment to any of them. Sure at some points I did feel anger/annoyance/ frustration to some of them, but these feelings are easier to get from a reader than feelings of love, which is what we want. I know I don’t read to feel angry.

I know thats not much of a review but there really wasnt much of a book to review. I feel like this ‘series’ would have been better off in a single novel with more depth, and each princess getting their own chapter.

If you wish to take a look at it yourself at some point, it is free on amazon kindle store right now so I suggest you go grab it while its cheapest.

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Maelyn

  1. I think I have this book sitting on my kindle somewhere and I’m interested to see if my opinion will be similar XD haha maybe we can compare notes! It sounds like it’s the type of book I don’t easily appreciate though. I can’t stand novellas for the most part because they are so rushed and seem to lack depth 98% of the time. At least this time I’ll know to expect it!

    • Yeah they will always have that downfall. I find that If you like the characters anyway its all good in the end. Here however there just wasnt any time to like the characters, I read the book in like an hour. I’ll get to the second one one day.

  2. Pingback: Quick Thoughts: “Maelyn” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

