Book Review – Sexton and the Reaper

Image

Title: Sexton and the Reaper

Author: Corey Feldman

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Length: 41

Rating: 1 Star

Description/Synopsis:

The Sexton and the Reaper is a novelette labeled as Paranormal Romance but it is not scary and it is not erotic by any stretch of the imagination. It’s really a good old fashion love story with Ghosts, Soul Collectors, Angels, Jewish & Christian Mysticism, and of course fantasy. I don’t love the category especially in the wake of 50 Shades of Grey. If I could name my own category, I would call it a Mystical Love Story. By the way, it will tie in to my Alex Kagan novel whenever I finish that! Reading this will in no way be necessary to follow my first Alex Kagan book, but their should be some fun Easter Eggs in there for you.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I grabbed this book thinking that it was going to be a really cute story about ghost love or something along those lines. That wasn’t really got. Sure the wife coming to visit her husband everyday for their little beyond the dead dates was kinda cute, specially when he gives her little air kisses on her cheek. The friendship between the Angle and the main guy could almost be cute. The writing its was kinda good too. That is until anyone started talking.

The dialogue in this book was just so, so painful. I was about 11% through and I wanted to put the book down and never pick it up ever again as long as I shall live. I always find it just mind blowing when I coming across dialogue like this. Its like the authors haven’t ever spoken to another human being, which of course is just hog wash. Do any of them actually talk like this? The dialogue seemed forced the entire way through and asks pointless questions and its quite often put in giant paragraphs.

Some of the names also seemed a tad silly. My recommendation would be to avoid this book unless you just must have something to fill a 40 minute time slot. But of course, this is just my opinion. It received two 3+ stars before I read it on Goodreads and on amazon is got 11 that were 4 and up.

Leave a Reply

