Book Review – The Heiresses

Image

Title: The Heiresses

Author: Allison Rushby

Genre: Young Adult Historical Romance

Length: 344

Rating: 3 Star

Description/Synopsis:

In Allison Rushby’s Heiresses, three triplets–estranged since birth–are thrust together in glittering 1926 London to fight for their inheritance, only to learn they can’t trust anyone–least of all each other.
When three teenage girls, Thalia, Erato and Clio, are summoned to the excitement of fast-paced London–a frivolous, heady city full of bright young things–by Hestia, an aunt they never knew they had, they are shocked to learn they are triplets and the rightful heiresses to their deceased mother’s fortune. All they need to do is find a way to claim the fortune from their greedy half-brother, Charles. But with the odds stacked against them, coming together as sisters may be harder than they think

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. For most of this book I felt… overwhelmed, or at least something close to it. What I mean by this is, a lot of ideas and details and plot twists are thrown into the book and they dont always mesh well together. I felt, though this may be completely wrong, that the author herself was at times a bit frazzled by the shear amount of different things she was trying to gather together. I felt this way because the writing was not always clear, and quite a lot I had to reread some pages. However, it seemed like most of these issues were worked out by the second half of the book.

The triplets themselves where kind of interesting. They were to me pretty much just three different sections of one person. The sweet and innocent, Clio, the logical and smart, Erato, and the complete bitch from hell with just too much self confidence, Thalia. As you can probably tell I didn’t like Thalia very much. Though I think this was intended, the author gave her a rape back story to try and lesson possible hate towards her, but it didnt work for me. Despite this, I feel she was the most defined of the three girls. There were times where Eratos logic completely failed and she was just… stupid really, which I dont believe would really happen for that character. Clio was more stable, but she didnt really hold up to her good nature, though this is kinda glossed over. All of the girls characters develop over the course of the book, but Thalias wasnt a really believable one for me. Her character grew just a little too much and I really wouldnt expect her to ever feel like that after such a short amount of time, regardless of the different things that happen. Clio’s end probably made me the happiest, I wanted her to end up with Edwin from the very first time they met. For her though, I felt maybe she was the authors favourite because she really got pretty much everything by the end, 3 separate loving families and a legal title, where as the other girls only got the one loving family a bit of self awareness.

I did feel like I missed out on my favourite characters though. I loved the very bits with Hestia, and wished I could have read more things through her eyes. I also loved Felix very quickly, and wished that we went into his life and his children more.

Though there were a number of things that annoyed me, like the endless need to justify each lie and secret every single one of them was always doing (its like it was some kind of disease they all had, the need to be so manipulative and lie), the actually story line didnt bother me in the slightest. Sure, it was hard to wade through and completely have a clear mind about it all for the first half, the author still did a pretty good job at telling a rather complicated story, and Im glad that I finally found the time to pick it up and give it a read.

 

Leave a Reply

