Book Review – Shadows Claim

Image

Title: Shadows Claim

Author: Kresley Cole

Genre: Supernatural Erotica

Length: 481

Rating: 4 Star

Description/Synopsis:

Shadow’s Claim features Prince Trehan, a ruthless master assassin who will do anything to possess Bettina, his beautiful sorceress mate, even compete for her hand in a blood-sport tournament—to the death.

He won’t be denied…

Trehan Daciano, known as the Prince of Shadows, has spent his life serving his people, striking in the night, quietly executing any threat to their realm. The coldly disciplined swordsman has never desired anything for himself—until he beholds Bettina, the sheltered ward of two of the Lore’s most fearsome villains.

She’s bound to another…

Desperate to earn her guardians’ approval after a life-shattering mistake, young Bettina has no choice but to marry whichever suitor prevails—even though she’s lost her heart to another. Yet one lethal competitor, a mysterious cloaked swordsman, invades her dreams, tempting her with forbidden pleasure.

A battle for her body and soul…

Even if Trehan can survive the punishing contests to claim her as his wife, the true battle for Bettina’s heart is yet to come. And unleashing a millennium’s worth of savage need will either frighten his Bride away—or stoke Bettina’s own desires to a fever-pitch…

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Oh I needed that. It has been awhile since I had to seriously convince myself to put a book down and go to sleep before the sun comes up. Thank you ever so much Kresley Cole.

Im not saying this book was perfect, it was riddled with things that were annoying. However for me the good outshone the bad.

Some of the bad would be that Cole tends to repeat herself quite a bit. She tells us things many many times and it does get annoying to get it brought up so often. I was consumed with the story, I hadn’t forgotten that detail just yet… You can also tell how things are going to pan out most the time with very little surprises. I also felt that semen was brought up a tad too much, and I mean it was brought up a lot. A sperm bank would have a wonderful time with the amount of sperm deposits that were brought up if they were to be receiving them.

Now some of the good. I thought the characters were pretty well written, not perfect but ever so enjoyable. My favourite was Salem, closely followed by Bettina’s Evil Queen godmother Morgana. Those two had me laughing out loud on a number of occasions. Some of my favourite Morgana lines are:

‘”Look at the pretties Bettina!”

“Prancing, prancing ponies for Bettina?” Morgana queried. “No? Seriously?” … “But how they prance.”

“Heads, Bettina!” Morgan cried, clasping her hand to her breast and batting her eyes. “A bag full of them! Just like your always wanted!”‘

I read that some people really didn’t enjoy Morgana all that much because of the way she treated Bettina, and because they thought she was a very typical character. I personally thought that we really didnt get to see much of her to pass that kind of judgement. She would just show up and half say things, insult, or say something delightful then go again. I also didnt really think she treated Bettina as badly as others, sure she called her freakling which at first I thought was a bit harsh, but later on it really grew on me. I wouldnt mind that as a nickname if I was her. Bettina also made some good comments about how she could tell she loved her in her own way, shes just a natural bitch and it was hard for her to turn off. I didnt mind Bettina, I liked her a lot more when she finally grew a backbone and got her awesome root power back. For someone who is supposed to come from quite a lot of ‘evil’ family I think that part of her could have been presented more. Evil can do good and good can do evil, they dont exclude each other and I dont think people remember that very often. I dont know where she stood on the how good or how evil scale.  I didnt get enough of her personality away from Trehan to really get full sense of her. Trehan was a dick, a well written bastard. I don’t really get the attraction the the abusive kind of male… no matter what good reasons he may have. And in true Morgana fashion “thats all I’ll say on the matter.”

I also loved even the slightest mention of characters I have read in her other books. Im fully planning on going back and reading all her books that relate to this Lore filled world. For me really this is what interests me most about the books. Sure, Im not going to complain about the sex, but its an added bonus, not the reason I read them. At this point im more interested in what is happening in that world as a whole, how all these characters connect, and their more broad lives, not just the sexy romantic bits.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Shadows Claim

  1. I so need to catch up and read this XD. I barely BARELY snagged the hangout last night.. I was literally trolling my email and went “CRAP!” when I realized I was an hour late. I had to watch the whole thing after it was over. Haha, it’ll be interesting to compare notes after I get around to it :)

    • Haha oh no! There is always next time. I was sitting at my computer like 15 minutes before it started to make sure I didnt miss it, and it ended up being a half hour late lol. They were pretty funny, Im glad I joined! They get so distracted.

Leave a Reply

