Book Review – Poison Princess

Image

Title: Poison Princess

Author: Kresley Cole

Genre: Young Adult Post-Apocalyptic Supernatural Romance

Length: 369

Rating: 5 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3

Description/Synopsis:

She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side….

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Just inject this story into my veins.

Oh Kresley Cole, though I love your smut you did have me worried with the last book when you started mentioning things like ‘steaming semen.’ I could tell you wrote the book at certain sections, such as the main character being a confused girl with untapped power (check) and the allure of bad boys with attitude problems (check), but most the book seemed like it was written by a completely different author. Well done! That shows great skill to me. It was amazing to see how much you can focus on creating such a world and the people in it when you dont have to focus on throbbing penises popping up all the time.

Right from the get go I was snagged in the story. I loved the approach of slowly introducing everything and everyone in three different time frames. The 1st, the present after ‘The Flash,’ then through story telling the days before the flash, and finally all the days after the end of pretty much everything that lead our main character Evie to where she is at the beginning of the book. Though I was snagged from the beginning, the second I think I realised that the book was seriously going to hit me was before the Flash even happened. We are introduced to Evie’s best friend Mel at a number of points. After she did something that just made me love her character thinking “My Gods I love Mel,” straight after it was followed by “holly crap and shes totally going to die in the next couple of pages…” That moment right there sealed the book for me. Its one thing to make me laugh (which it did), its another to make me sad. I was seriously depressed and completely heartbroken. There was also another point which nearly had me in tears.

As people will probably work out quickly is that I am never a fan of zombies, which seem to be completely unavoidable when it comes to post-apocalyptic stories, so that was a downfall for me. Though they didn’t call them zombies and they didnt eat brains, they were pretty much the same. They were called bagmen and they were gross slimy creatures that just want to suck up the remaining water from the earth and thusly attack people for the water in their bodies. However I really liked  the idea of people embodying Cole’s interpretation of the Major Arcana Tarot Cards, and gaining power from them and engaging in epic battles that seem to repeat throughout the ages.

Jackson – The only character that we are properly introduced to that doesnt get a card. He probably doesnt need one though because his tough attitude and willingness to beat a man to death kind of helps him live. Im not really all that keen on Jack personally, he had just way too much teen drama going on for my liking, and everytime he said things like “A man has needs and if you dont give them too much ill get them somewhere else” I wanted to slap him. Of course, I wanted to slap Evie more for still pining after him when he said stuff like that to her.

The Empress Card is Evie – Evie is the main character, and I have bits of mixed feelings about her character. I loved the fact that she was a preppy popular cheerleader rather than a quiet girl who doesnt like the spotlight. Through most the book she was fighting and denying her awesome power which lets her control and grow plants, because she doesnt want to become the evil lady from her dreams. But then at the end of the book she has a dramatic change and totally embraces it and the idea of being the evil lady. How quickly this happened didnt work for me, and I found it annoying that she thought that if she practised her powers she had to be an evil person… She could have totally just embraced her powers and used them to put plants back on the earth, rather than using them to rip a guy in half.

Death – He is the big bad that is trying to kill Evie. Though we didnt get as much as I would have liked of him, he is probably one of my more favourite characters. Apparently for the next book he is going to be in the book more because a love triangle forms between him, Evie, and Jacks because past cards have had a love connection between the Empress and Death. I really cant wait to see how that turns out.

The Fool is Matthew – Completely bonkers and completely loveable. I dont know why, but I have a soft spot for characters of the crazy sort. You would be crazy and annoying too if you saw everything, past present and future. He is in my top favourite characters, even though I can completely understand why some of the other characters wanted to hit him. He requires much patience.

The Hermit – His character was slightly annoying to me. His character of being a super bad guy who tortures girls felt just way too forceful. Someone of such a sick personality could easily have been conveyed far better if it was said in less obvious ways without to repetition.

The Moon and The Magician – I didnt really get to know these characters to have much of an opinion of them, though at this time I like the Magician more than the Moon.

Be warned, the book ends on a major cliff hanger and many things go unanswered, and I don’t know if this is an attempt by Cole to make people buy the next book or not, but its going to be really painful for me to wait until October 1st to read the next instalment!

Leave a Reply

