Book Review – Deadly Lode

Image

Title: Deadly Lode

Author: Randall Reneau

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

Length: 304

Rating: 3 Star

Description/Synopsis:

Geologist Trace Brandon’s serendipitous discovery of the long forgotten Sullivan Mine comes with more than high grade uranium and gold ore. When ex-con and penny mining stock promoter, Cyrus”The Virus” McSweeny, finds out about Brandon’s new mining claims, he formulates an underhanded plan to gain an interest in the mine. To further complicate matters, one of Brandon’s shareholders, Richard Rosenburg, is into a New Orleans crime family for a cool million. And they want Rosy’s shares in Brandon’s new company; Montana Creek Mining. As Brandon begins to drill out the rich orebody, his shareholders start dying. And not from natural causes. The exotic nature of the murders catches the attention of FBI Special Agent Beau Monroe. But it’s the world class uranium grades that catch Hong Kong based Lei Chang’s eye. Chang wants the uranium reserves for his Chinese backed mining company. And he doesn’t care how he gets them. Brandon is forced to forge some rather unorthodox alliances to maintain control of the Sullivan Mine, and to stay alive.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I received this book by winning it in goodreads, and to be honest it is not they type of book I would normally pick up at all and I don’t know what was going through my mind when I entered the contest. I was however, more impressed with it than I expected.

For a lot of the book I had no idea what on earth anyone was talking about. It goes into details and talks about shares, stock exchange, and procedures that one must go through to start a dig for gold or whatever they may be hoping for. I know nothing about any of this, and when these topics come up, and they come up alot, they kinda just went over my head. However, I feel that these types of discussions or topics were probably presented as simply as they could be and if I had been more interested in either of the topics I might have been able to understand what was going on. I did think the author did a good job at trying to make it so that anyone that picks up the book will have a fighting chance of understanding.

As for the murder mystery side of the story, I wouldn’t go far as to say I was surprised or in suspense for any part of it. The flow of the story, the theme, and even the characters I found myself pleasantly just going along with it all. To me it was all very simple, but not so boring that is wasn’t unenjoyable. The characters are very one dimensional and simple, and though I liked them well enough I wasn’t attached or in love with any of them or cared all that much if they were killed off. Same goes for the story line in general, when something that I assume was supposed to be a big deal happens I was in my head going Ok then. I think this happened because it was all put out and discussed a tad too much and I could see most of the things coming. Most things aren’t hidden or just happen, you know they are coming. The end was all wrapped up into a nice little bundle, and I felt the same about the story from start to finish. No spikes of suspense, but no mind numbing boredom either.

In terms of how the thing was put together and written, there were a few things that bugged me. There were a number of grammatical errors and mistakes in the copy I was given, and they really stood out to me. Things like that pull me from the story and that will effect the way I feel about it by the end of the story. Also, things tended to get repeated just way to much for my liking, Anyone who reads my reviews will see that this is an issue that I point out quite a bit. The most serious one was Cyrus the Virus. Just about every character in the story said that at least once. I get it, that’s everyone’s nickname for that character. Move on, I don’t need to hear it again.

So I enjoyed it despite I didn’t understand what was going on on the more technical terms and knew too much in plot terms.

Leave a Reply

