Comic Review – Freakangels

Image

Title: Freakangels [Complete series]

Author: Warren Ellis

Genre: Post-Apocalyptic, Fantasy, Comic Series

Length: 144

Rating: 1 Star

Description/Synopsis:

Six years ago, twelve psychic children accidentally used their powers to flood the world. Now they attempt to rebuild society and defend London’s Whitechapel survivors from one of their own.Twenty-three years ago, twelve strange children were born in England at exactly the same moment. Six years ago, the world ended. Today, eleven strange 23-year-olds live in and defend Whitechapel, maybe the last real settlement in flooded London. When a dazed, gun-toting girl appears on the outskirts with a deadly grudge against the self-proclaimed Freakangels, the kids realize that an old enemy is still alive beyond the safety of their borders… a twelfth psychic child, evil and exiled, who can program human minds to hate, and send his private, pirate armies into Whitechapel for revenge. The first chapter in award-winning author Warren Ellis’ post-apocalyptic web comic series!

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Gah… just… gah.

I went into this with such high hopes, and every single one of them was shattered. I read other reviews and I am pretty convinced that I must have read it wrong. Out of everyone I know who read it (it was part of a comic book club which I will not be attending due to so much hatred I don’t see the point in travelling so far for it), and out of pretty much all of the reviews I read, I am the only one who hated it. I actually got angry while I was reading.

It had its good points, the art was beautiful, the whole idea of the story was great, the writing that was there was also good, and the characters had sooo much potential, it just all fell short because the just the structure of the story was horrible. I felt like someone had gone through and ripped out pages and completely disrupted the whole story.

You would be reading along and then the story would suddenly be somewhere else without finishing what it was talking about in the first place and then never ever mentioned or completed again. This doesnt just happen in the back story, if anything I was more happy with that becaus eyou can do those kind of things to back stories. But it also happened to things that were happening in the present. You can’t do that with things that are currently happening, how on earth are you supposed to follow or understand or even LIKE the story when that is happening.

As I said, Im the only one I know of that felt this strongly about it. If I have in fact read it wrong someone how please, pleeeaaasseee tell me because I really wanted to like this. If you would like to read it as well you can read it for free online on the Freakangles website.

Leave a Reply

