Book Review – Mockingjay

Image

Title: Mockingjay [The Hunger Games 3]

Author: Suzanne Collins

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian Science Fiction

Length: 455

Rating: 5 Star

Book Series Reviews: 12, 3

Movie Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3

Description/Synopsis:

“If we burn you burn with us.”

Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But she’s still not safe. A revolution is unfolding, and everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans – everyone except Katniss.

And yet she must play the most vital part in the final battle. Katniss must become their Mockingjay – the symbol of rebellion – no matter what the personal cost.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Where do I even begin with this book? Well I spose I should start off by saying that I will be talking about spoilers in this review. There is no may about it. Its a bit hard to talk about it without spoilers.

The pace of this book seems to move slowly despite all the stuff that is going on but then it all seems to just collapse at the end when it turns out it wasn’t really all that slow. Sorry I know that doesn’t make much sense, but this book rocked me and I find it hard to think all that clearly. Also, some of the actions that happen in this book are just a tad ridiculous. Though things they have to face and things that happen are believable in the sense that the world they are in is ridiculous so that kind of stuff can happen, but it still seems really over the top and just mad. I kind of don’t think they are going to be able to pull this book off as a movie very well. Sure they can make it all digital and what not but it still might not work. I spose I will see in over a year when the last movie comes out.

Some other plot things that annoyed me were:

  1. I thought the districts were won over a tad too easily before they started taking on the capital.
  2. No one by the end of the book really gives a toss about them winning the war. Its mentioned but there is no emotion in it really.

This book is desperately throughout the entire thing. Its so sad even that I actually hated any happy parts. They were a tease and just made things harder to deal with. Everyone dies in this book. If they didn’t die in a physical way they all die emotionally.

Katniss starts off kind of weak and pathetic and by the end she is basically a shell. This kills me and yet I find believable so is very well done because she was just a strong person and it was heart breaking to see her die that way. I totally hated Peeta for how he was after they saved him. I know it wasn’t all his fault with the torture and how they made it all connect to Katniss so he hated her, but I still hated him. Its not realistic of me to think he could withstand things like that but I did. It took him far too long to come back around and even then he wasn’t the same. I think part of me needed him to stay the way he was before because Katniss just couldn’t. I wanted to like Haymitch. I did. But I couldn’t forgive him for stuff that happened in the other book. I hated Gale too by the end. Parts of his personality that now that I think back through the other books that have always been there but were not dominant are horrible. He was filled with too much hatred. I also hate him for his part in the final events no matter how small.

On a plus side the love triangle is resolved. But this too is depressing. Gale and Katniss don’t end up together because he played a part and designed the trap that killed Prim. Thats right, the whole reason Katniss joined the games to begin with, to keep her sister alive, was totally for nothing because she was killed as a result of her oldest friend’s actions. I was in shock over this for a really long time, and it didn’t really hit me that she was dead until Katniss started screaming at Prim’s cat telling it that she was never coming back. I cried my eyes out at that part.

The author tried to give the book a kind of happy ending, but it felt hollow. I had to go get in the shower once I finished the book. I was so emotionally stuffed up and broken that I felt dirty all over and I had to try and wash it off. So yeah, great book in a really depressing way. I would recommend it.

Leave a Reply

