Book Review – The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

Image

Title: The Last Winter of Dani Lancing

Author: P.D. Viner

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Length: 400

Rating: 4 Star

Description/Synopsis:

Twenty years ago, college student Dani Lancing was kidnapped and brutally murdered. The killer was never found, and the case has long gone cold. Her parents, Patty and Jim, were utterly devastated, their marriage destroyed. While Jim fell apart, Patty was consumed by the unsolved case. She abandoned her journalism career and her marriage to spend every waking hour searching and plotting. She keeps contact with Tom, Dani’s childhood sweetheart, who has become a detective intent on solving murders like Dani’s. When he finds a lead that seems ironclad, he brings Patty in on it. After years of dead ends, her obsession is rekindled, and she will do anything for revenge, even become a killer herself-dragging her whole family into the nightmare once again, as lies and secrets are uncovered.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Well I spose I should start off by saying I got this off of NetGalley ahead of the publication date. That date has been and gone by now so I am sorry! I should really keep my NetGalley books to one at a time so this issue never comes up again.

For the structure of of the book I really enjoyed it. It gives you snippets of past and present mixed in together and slowly the story unfolds. I really like these kind of stories. They keep the suspense going for a story you already know the ending of. If this kind of story was told in a more straight forward order I don’t know how well it would work, but luckily for me that is not an issue.

When it comes to the theme/plot of the book the ending was left a little up in the air. The dude waking up from the coma could destroy the life they are living but they don’t go into that just just left there. Part of my likes when things are left up to the readers imagination but I think this may have been taking that too far. On the other hand, I really liked the very beginning of the book. You start off from the perspective of Dani, and though I could sense it coming/being revealed, I really loved it when it was told that she was already dead. Ghost perspective is generally always awesome for me because its not something I come across all the time.

Dani I liked as a character and I did feel sorry. She wasn’t perfect but you could feel her struggle with what happened with her life and I personally thought she was more real for this struggle and imperfectness. I’m glad they put the perspective of her ghost in there, I don’t know if I would have liked her so much if it was just the memories/revelations made up by the other people in the book. I started off like Tom and felt sorry for him too, I felt sorry for pretty much everyone in the book, however I gradually become disgusted with some of his choices throughout and was left wondering what the hell I was think feeling sorry for someone like that. But this disgust was slowly developed and I’m glad it was done that way because it made me feels things about him rather than cause me to ride him off right away. Good move on the writer. I thought the dad was a wimp and I didn’t like him all that much, but I thought the mum though crazy was more likeable. I seem to have a soft spot for the crazy.

As a side note I have read that many people have not liked the cover used for this book that I put at the top of this review, however I disagree. I feel the cover displays the more ghostly side of the writing and I think it displays Dani’s sadness and concealment.

Anyways I really liked this book, and I would more than gladly pick it up again.

Leave a Reply

