2013 End Of Year Book Survey

Image

So to start off the new year I thought I would join in a survey started by Jamie over at Perpetual Page-Turner because I thought it sounded like a good way to reflect on my first months (not a whole year yet!) that I have been happily reading and blogging away.

best-teen-books-2013-1024x255

1. Best Book You Read In 2013?

Oh wow hard hard hard. Since I have issues picking things I shall cheat and give two answers. The best book that was completely new to me would have to be Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins purely because of how it made me feel once I put it. The fact I felt so… distraught once I finished that I had to go have a shower after says something. My second answer is a an old favourite so is always at the top of my list The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

2. Book You Were Excited About And Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Easy choice for me, Freakangels by Warren Ellis. Everyone I know raved about it and the storyline sounded so good but my god was it rubbish.

3. Most Surprising (In A Good Way) Book Of 2013?

Hmmm I suppose for me that would be Losing It by Cora Carmack. I was expecting just your standard kind of love story but this one was made special full of goodness.

4. Book You Read In 2013 That You Recommended To People Most In 2013?

Other than my blogs I don’t really recommend books all that much. People only ever ask if they can borrow one of mine not what they should go out and read and since I don’t lend my books out willy nilly because I don’t trust people will actually look after them. So with all that in mind… I think the book I recommended the most would have to be Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead because the person who I lent it to lives in my house and I know they would replace the book if I felt like crying when I got it back.

5. Best Series You Discovered In 2013?

Since I already put The Hunger Games down for a different question I think the best one I discovered would be The Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole.

6. Favourite New Author You Discovered In 2013?

I hate being boring and saying the same thing for more than one answer but my favourite would have to be Cora Carmack.

7. Best Book That Was Out Of Your Comfort Zone Or Was A New Genre For You?

That will have to be Deadly Lode by Randall Reneau because the larger part of the subject matter was something I was completely ignorant and wouldn’t normally find the least bit interesting but despite that I did not hate this book.

8. Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book In 2013?

If I Should Die Before I Wake by Michelle Morris had me reading non stop due to its huge graphic nature.

9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read In 2014?

Most likely The Host by Stephenie Meyer because I seem to read that book at least once a year.

10. Favourite Cover Of A Book You Read In 2013?

Last-Winter-of-Dani-Lancing-US-front-cover

11. Most Memorable Chacrter In 2013?

Hard one. Just because I really have no idea Im going to go with… Adrian from The Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead.

12. Most Beautifully Written Book In 2013?

Harmless by Julienne van Loon.

13. Book That Had The Greatest Impact On You In 2013?

Another boring answer cause its a repeat Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

14. Book You Can’t Believe You Waitned Until 2013 To Finally Read?

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

Since I don’t like settling or making up my mind I shall give a sad one and a more funny one. First the sad one from Mockingjay:

I drag myself out of nightmares each morning and find there’s no relief in waking.

And the funnier one from Losing It:

I have a cat! I do!” Damn it… why couldn’t I ever remember my imaginary cat’s gender? “Umm… she’s grey and adorable and her name is…” I said the first thing that popped into my head, “Hamlet.”

I was a genius.

16. Shortest And Longest Book You Read In 2013?

So apparently according to Goodreads sorting system The Host was the largest thing I read in 2013 and the smallest was Nerissa The Forgotten Siren by Lainy Lane.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (A WTF Moment, An Epic Revelation, A Steamy Kiss etc. etc.) Be Careful Of Spoilers!

Well thats easy. That moment in Mockingjay when Katniss’ world ends. You know the moment if you read the book. I talked about it in my review. Sorry for those of you who were silly enough to read past my warning of spoilers if you hadn’t read the book yet.

18. Favourite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013?

I think that would have to be Mel and Wanda from The Host. Its a developed relationship. The best kind.

19. Favourite Book You Read In 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?

The Poison Princess in the Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole.

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based Solely On A Recommendation From Somebody Else?

Im going to say that bookclub books count for this so my answer is again The Poison Princess by Kresley Cole.

21. Genre You Read The Most From In 2013?

Im going to guess that books that fall into the category of Young Adult are up at the highest of genre read this year.

22. Newest Fictional Crush From A Book You Read In 2013?

Matthew from The Poison Princess.

23. Best 2013 Debut You Read?

The Last Winter of Dani Lancing by P.D. Viner

24. Most Vivid World/Imagery In A Book You Read In 2013?

Since I have talked about The Hunger Games and Vampire Academy to death already I choose Dark Currents by Jacqueline Carey. Its not the most vivid but I liked the world that was presented, magic and normal kind of living side by side.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read In 2013?

Beautiful Mess by Lucy V. Morgan. Funny funny funny.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry In 2013?

Mockingjay when Katniss yells at Prim’s cat.

27. Book You Read In 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Scared of Santa by Denise Joyce and Nancy Watkins

reading-life-2013-1024x255

1. New Favourite Book Blog You Discovered In 2013?

I mostly watch her on YouTube but it would have to be Little Book Owl.

2. Favourite Review That You Wrote In 2013?

Im going to say Head Over Wheels by January Valentine because it was the first book that an author requested I do a review by contacting me first :) It was an honour!

3. Best Discussion You Had On Your Blog?

The Reading Tree: The Seed is my personal favourite discussion I have raised even if others were not interested.

4. Most Thought-Provoking Review Or Discussion You Read On Somebody Else’s Blog?

Im sad to say that I haven’t read all that many other posts that I would consider thought provoking on blogs. I blame this on my whole blog thing and Im not completely used on how to do things yet. Sorry for the lack of answer.

5. Best Event That You Participated In (Authors Signings, Festivals, Virtual Events, Memes, etc)?

I participated in none. I promise to change that this year!

6. Best Moment Of Book Blogging/Your Life In 2013?

When I started it. I was so excited and so happy. The feeling hasn’t changed much since then :)

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (Whether It be By Comments Or Views)?

Im pretty sure The Storycatcher by Ann Hite was my most viewed post.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

The Book Chain Exchange Idea

9. Best Bookish Discover (Book Related Sites, Book Stores, etc)?

Goodreads or NetGalley I think are the best ones.

10. Did You Complete Any Reading Challenges Or Goals That You Had Set For Yourself At The Beginning Of The Year?

Well I didn’t set it at the beginning of the year but it doesn’t lesson on the challenge. I completed the goal on Goodreads I set for myself to read 50 books. It says that I actually read 60 or something so yay me.

2014-books-1024x255

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority In 2014?

Everville: The First Pillar by Roy Huff

2. Book You Are Anticipating For 2014 (Non-Debut)?

I think that would have to be the third instalment of The Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole which has as of yet not even been given a title.

3. 2013 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

No Idea.

4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating In 2014?

Well as of yet no other Arcana Chronicles books have been announced so that might be ending this year.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

I hope to achieve my goal of reading 80 books this year and to become more involved in the book blogging community.

Leave a Reply

