Bout of Books Read-A-Thon 9.0 – Challenges

Bout of Books

Day One

Book Buying Spree

Imagine if you will: you’ve just received some FANTASTIC news! You have won a $100 book buying spree! Now comes the hard part though: what books will you buy?! Winner receives $15 to buy books from The Book Depository. For more Information and how to enter check out the blog. My Answer:

Buy List

Day Two

Reading Tactics

How do you fit in as much reading as possible during Bout of Books? How do you squeeze in those extra pages? $20 Amazon or Book Depository prize. To find out more check out the blog. My answer:

  1. No technology. Tv and my computer are very big distractions.
  2. You read until you sleep.
  3. If travelling anywhere via public transport take a book with you! I do a lot of my reading on the bus or sitting waiting for my transport.
  4. Prep for a long read. Gather a drink, possible snacks, have another book ready to go and anything you may possibly need for a major reading session! The less you move, the less distractions will find you.

Cast Your Book

If you were listening to the book being acted out over the radio waves who would you want being the voices of your favorite characters! To see other answers check out the blog. My answer:

This one was very very hard for me. I don’t know actors names, and I don’t really pay much attention to what they sound like. So to make it easier on myself I selected a couple of actors that I think could play the roles and have decent sounding voices while doing it. Though, I’m not completely happy with it.

Book – On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Jonah Griggs – Chris Hemsworth (Younger)

Taylor Markham – Jennifer Lawrence

Day Three

Introduce Someone to Your Favourite Genre

The title says it all doesn’t? The prize is any recommended book suggest by a participant. Check out other entries at the blog.

Lately I am loving on dystopian books at the moment.I shall avoid the ones everyone is say so here are some books I would suggest:

9780316068048_custom-s6-c10Poision PrincessThe-Passage-2

I do of course have a number of other genres I love but this is the one im hankering for at the moment.

Day Four

Double Date Book Challenge

You must pick two books that you would recommend someone read together (like a double date!) and explain your reasons for the recommendation. Giveaway prize is up to $10 on a book from The Book Depository. For more information check out the blog.

For my answer I would put together:

99 A Spell For Chameleon

I would put both of these books together because they both deal with the realm of fantasy but in different ways. A Spell For Chameleon deals with fantasy and magic in a more confined and potent capacity in the modern era, while The Hobbit deals with it in an older time over a much larger space with less pronounced magic. Both however have a wonderful adventure.

Found Poem

Just choose a novel from any genre. Pick a number between 1 and 10, and you’re ready to start! Flip to a page at random. Using your trusty number count down 7 lines. Then count in 7 words. Write that word down. Repeat this process until your have fourteen words. Delete two words and add in two words of your own. Now arrange your words any way you like to finish your found poem. See the original challenge here.

I chose Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta and chose the number 8. My words were back, sitting, Sera, in, had, you, We, like, on, up, day? He, ground-floor, amused. I replaced like with blind and He with that. Heres what I came up with:

 Had you in

Sitting back

Amused. Up.

Ground-floor Sera,

We blind on that day?

Day Five

Create A Story

Using the last page you read and using the last word of each line, form a poem or story. Prize is up to $15 on a book from The Book Depository. Read more details on the blog. My book was Foretold by Carrie Ryan page 60. Here is what I ended up with:

Were first my angriest and tiniest bees returns.

Ignites throat, chest, and body.

Girl hold breath,

World die.

Through sprang one like me.

Book Spine Poetry

For this challenge,  use books you currently have available, and arrange the spines to make a poem. Then take a picture, and share it with the web! For examples and participants check out the blog. Here is my entry:

P1030886

Day Six

Book Staging

You know how real estate agents will stage an apartment to attract potential buyers?  Well, that’s what you’re going to do to a book! Take a picture of a book you’re reading today, or any book you have lying around.  In the picture you should have the book in a setting, or surrounded by items, that represent the book.  It can mimic the cover, or represent characters/events/etc from the story.  Basically, make us want to read the book based on picture alone. Prize is a book up to $15  from The Book Depository. For other entries and more details check out the blog.

Boy did I have fun with this one! Here is my entry:

P1030890

Day Seven

Bookish Weddings

Have you ever read a book and thought, “Man I wish these people were real?  I would be best friends with them in real life”. It’s all questions about which of your favourite characters you’d invite to your wedding if you were to marry your top book boyfriend/girlfriend. Prize is up to $10 on a book from The Book Depository. For more info see the blog. Here are my answers:

1. Which fictional character would you marry?

In my mind we are including manga, so I pick the every sexy and powerful Zero from Vampire Knight by Matsuri Hino. I want to sooth his soul and I want to feel safe in his big strong arms.

2. Who would be your Maid of Honour?

Im going to say Taylor from On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. She isnt very exciting a lot of the time and kind of angry and bitchy, but I still really enjoy her and she would push me a bit out of my comfort zone as I would with her and I think that is what things should be like.

3. Which fictional world would you want to get married in?

Im going to have to go with the land of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen because I like to dress like that normally and I would like to have the classic style of wedding.

4. Who would you pick to play the music at your wedding?

Im going to Roland in Fallen by Lauren Kate because in the second book someone makes a comment on how they always wanted to go to his name brand parties. I feel he would keep the music appropriate but still fun.

5.Who would your photographer be?

I think I have to say Margaret from The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield because even though she isnt a photographer I feel like she would have an eye for capturing these moments. Or Tracy from A Whisper of Eternity by Amanda Ashley because she is artistic.

6. Who would you sit at the single table (and hope they’d fall in love)?

Im going to say Ponyboy from The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and Mel from The Poison Princess by Kresley Cole if she didn’t die. They both deserve someone lovely.

7. Who would be your flower girl or ring bearer?

Im going to say Amanda from Hunting Down Amanda by Andrew Klavan. If the pesky part about her getting hurt everytime she helps someone, is someone at the wedding got hurt she could heel them!

8. Who would you want to plan the bachelorette party?

I would pick Arriane from Fallen by Lauren Kate because she is the life of the party naturally and would spice up a party like that.

9. At the wedding, who would be the first on the dance floor?

I think it would be Hachi from Nana by Ai Yazawa. She is so happy and enthusiastic most of the time I could totally see her being swept up and getting on up there.

10. Who would give a speech or toast?

Lissa from Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. By the end of the series she speaks so beautifully from the heart so I know she could think of an amazing speech.

11. Who would catch the boquet or garter?

Anyone from Ouran High School Host Club for either because they would have amazing reactions to either of these landing in their laps/hands.

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-A-Thon 9.0 – Challenges

  1. I also chose Jellicoe Road and Jennifer Lawrence as Taylor! Jonah was harder for me. I narrowed it down to three possible actors–Evan Peters, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, or Taylor Kitsch. haha

    I keep getting distracted by technology so I might have to do what you say and just avoid it to get more reading in.

    • Yay for Jellicoe Road love! Not enough people have read it in my opinion.

      How hard was it to pick someone for Jonah? I like your idea of Taylor Kitsch. I haven’t seen him in anything (I don’t think) but he seems like he could pull him off :D

Leave a Reply

