Book Review – Looking For Alibrandi

9780140360462

Title: Looking For Alibrandi

Author: Melina Marchetta

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Coming of Age

Length: 261

Rating: 3 Star

Movie Review

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

For as long as Josephine Alibrandi can remember, its just been her, her mum, and her grandmother. Now its her final year at a wealthy Catholic high school. The nuns couldnt be any stricter but that doesnt seem to stop all kinds of men from coming into her life.

Caught between the old-world values of her Italian grandmother, the no nonsense wisdom of her mum, and the boys who continue to mystify her, Josephine is on the ride of her life. This will be the year she falls in love, the year she discovers the secrets of her family’s past and the year she sets herself free.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

While reading this book I got flashback of school and I kind of try to avoid those at all times, but because this book is based on Australian school system it kind of held a place in my heart because it was relatable in that way. Oh HSC, you will forever have a stain upon my mind.

I kind of hated our main character Jose, but I think this was more of personal reason than she was a bad character. For the story she was telling, the time in her life, and the events that are going on I think her personality and character are spot on to how most if not all teenagers are. I think this is why I hate her so much, I know I acted like that at times and might still do Im sad to say. She points out the bad parts of me and the troubles that we have to go through.

Now it really wouldn’t be a teen coming of age HSC story if there wasn’t a suicide. Though I don’t think highly of it at all and have strong views which I wont mention because I will get hate mail. That being said I did tear up when I was reading about her feelings on the suicide. Its those feelings that I have such… negative opinions.

The rest of the characters were pretty full on except for the mother. I hated her Nonna for being such a cow, I thought her boyfriend Jacob was a tool, and I couldn’t believe on a totally that might happen to some people how her father treated her in the beginning. Why does everyone act like such… meanies? But remembering back then I often thought people were being intentionally mean when sometimes they weren’t, but the people in her life just seem nasty.

So anyway this was a very realistic portrayal of a teenage life in Australia, but I think I would have enjoyed it more if I was actually that age, a bit younger, or just out of school.

Leave a Reply

