Book Review – City of Bones

the-mortal-instruments-book-one-city-of-bones

Title: City of Bones [The Mortal Instruments 1]

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Supernatural, Romance

Length: 485

Rating: 3.5 rounded up to 4 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy? This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I didn’t really expect much going into this book. I have heard lots of people talk about it, quite often good, and I had seen it fill the shelves at stores like kmart because they always have many many many copies of YA books that are supposed to be the next big hit, and I had heard there was a movie. There were mixed reviews about the movie though, most people said it was bad. So I avoided it for a really long time. I think the covers also had something to do with it. It kind of looked like the book was trying to hard to p[rove itself or something… which is ridiculous cause now that I think about it they are not that bad but whatever. Then someone came to me and said they really think I would like the movie and that I should watch it, so I decided that I should read the book first before I put myself through something like that.

Though I can kind of understand the hype some people hold for this series, I myself didn’t feel it at all until I got to the end of the book. I found the very beginning really hard to get into. The way some of the demons talk, and none of them ever talk that way again at the end, was just so stupid. How am suppose to feel suspense when someone who is facing off with a demon that can’t even talk proper. It was a joke. If you are not going to get them to talk in a way that is not menacing and  have them coming across something you might hear in a really old and bad horror movie, its best to keep their mouths shut. The second their mouths open you have ruined all the feeling you have spent all that time building up to. There were other things but that got under my skin the most.

All of that rant being said and done, I was really really into the story by the end of it and instantly picked up the next one so that I could keep on being in there. Most of the characters are awesome (with the exception of Simeon who is just annoying), and even characters like Clary’s mum who isn’t even in the book all that much I enjoy. I love the relationship between the characters and I think they are well developed.

I felt bad for Clary and the development she has to go through is quite alot so that she doesnt go crazy. Despite the fact that I don’t like Simeon, he brought out the best in her really. The section where he gets turned into a rat and she just goes totally ape-shit, specially when she looses him, was just hysterical. I think this might have been one of my favourite scenes in the entire book.

Im a but iffy on the relationship between Clary and Jace. The big secret of who Clary’s father is was never a secret to me despite how desperately they tried to make it seem like a big mystery, and the second they said that Jace was going to be with his father (who we have been told is dead) combined with the way they said it I knew straight away that their parents are one and the same. Yay incest? I think most people find this as a really bad aspect of the story, but I have already been presented with this kind of thing in other stories which I loved so its not a huge sticking point to me. Something I try to over look and not think about, but it didn’t make me put the book down. They had some cute moments but I hope that perhaps they move on or something… Luckily it didn’t hold that big a part of this section on the story.

So yeah, sorry for the bit of rant, but I still enjoyed the book. If you like supernatural stuff I think this would be a book you pick up and at least try.

Leave a Reply

