Book Review – A Game Of Thrones

81NoUIhBD5L._SL1500_

Title: A Game Of Thrones [A Song Of Ice And Fire 1]

Author: George R.R. Martin

Genre: Fantasy, Epic, Adult

Length: 801

Rating: 4 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Wow. Just wow. I cannot believe how long it took me to finish this book. Depending on what I have to do that, I can normally easily finish a book between 200-680ish pages in a day. This book is about 800 pages. One would think that it would take me at most a couple of weeks to finish. Well, it took me about 6 months. I’m really quite ashamed of how long it took me. The size of the book was very daunting to me and while I was reading I didn’t feel like I was getting anywhere, and that’s part of the fun I get out of reading. The progress. I had to start leaving my bookmark in where I started reading so I could see how far I had read that day.

Now I did see the TV series before I started the book. This kind of makes it hard for me to talk about the book without referring back to the show like I normally would. So I think I will do this a bit backwards and compare the books to the show and do a review on it later. Maybe.

Now I don’t think I would have gotten through this book at all if it were not for the show. There are so many people with strange names and some of them are very similar, and If I hadn’t of seen the faces they put to most these names in the show I think I would have gotten really really lost very early on in the story.

The characters In the book were a bit more flat to the ones in the show. I don’t know if it is because I knew what was happening to all of them already but I found the way they were presented in the book less dramatic/interesting. This is not to say that they were not good, they were. I got to understand more about why they do the things they do which is just left out in the show. For example I don’t hate Sansa as much anymore because of reading her chapters. I understand her better, though I’m still not happy with the things she does. That all being said though they are all really well constructed characters, they know who they are and so do you. Because of the show though I has issues picturing them at their actually ages. When I remembered how old they were some of the things really shocked me.

When it comes to the world building I think they did a pretty good job at keeping it true to how its described in the book. They only really left out some of the more completely impossible kind of things like the journey up the Aerie steps, I can see why they altered that a bit. But there is stuff both in the plot and the world building hat is left out that is just stunning even if it wasn’t completely needed.

I guess I just loved the extra details I got from the book that were not in or were not conveyed in the show in all regards. The character sections were my favourite though. I think reading this book would have been easier if it hadn’t of been quite so large and was maybe broken in half. Maybe then it wouldn’t have appeared quite as dense as it was. It was still a good read and had sections of it me glued to the book.

Leave a Reply

