From Book to Movie – Looking For Alibrandi

Looking_For_Alibrandi_PosterArt

Title: Looking For Alibrandi

Genre: Drama, Coming of Age, Young Adult, Australia

Rating: 2 Star

Book Review

Description/Synopsis:

A teenage Australian girl deals with the traumas of everyday life. These include her difficult relationship with her single mother, the unexpected return of her long-lost father, the disapproving nuns at her strict Catholic school, the acceptance of her schoolmates,and romantic dilemmas over two very different boys.

Movie Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

This movie kind of went by without me noticing much about what was happening. This is the reason why it got such a low rating, that and the fact that I don’t think I will watch it again. I’m not saying It was all that bad, I’m sure some people would love it if they liked the book more than I did.

The casting choices in the movie I thought were very good ones. The only one that I really had an issue with was Kick Gurry as Jacob Coote. Compared to all the other kids in the movie he just looked so much older than all of them and it was just weird.

I liked her Nonna and her father much more in this time round. They came off less harsh and mean. I still didn’t like her Nonna though.

In terms of plot they did leave out a few things, but that’s to be expected. I didn’t even notice they had left out certain scenes until I was sitting here writing this review so clearly they didn’t matter all that much.

The only thing that really bothered me about the movie was the fact I feel like they downplayed John Baton’s death a bit. I don’t feel they played up all the signs of distress and sadness he expressed to Josie before he committed suicide. I think they also downplayed everyones reaction to his death. I really connected with Josie in the book at this section, but here I didn’t so much. I think they also skipped over her section with Carly after his death, where they kind of connect, and that made me a bit sad.

So yes, I don’t think this was a bad movie. Those who love the book will probably love this movie. But like the book this movie was just not for me. If I had of been doing my HSC when I first saw this movie I think I would have liked it alot more. My own preference is why the rating is low, not because I don’t think people will enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

