Book Review – The Long Way Home

Long Way Home

Title: The Long Way Home [The Homelanders 2]

Author: Andrew Klavan

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Adventure

Length: 345

Rating: 3 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Sometimes you have to go home to find out who you really are.

Charlie West went to bed one night an ordinary high-school student. He woke up a hunted man. Terrorists are trying to kill him. The police want to arrest him for the stabbing death of his best friend. He doesn’t know whose side he’s on or who he can trust. With his pursuers closing in on every side, Charlie makes his way back to his hometown to find some answers. There, holed up in an abandoned mansion, he’s joined by his friends in a desperate attempt to discover the truth about a murder he can’t remember’and the love he can never forget.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

This book fell a star or a half short of the first one for me. Perhaps I got used to the idea of the story? I don’t know.

We finally got some answers in this book. Thank god. About halfway through I started panicking that nothing was going to get revealed in this book either and if that had of been true I would have had to throw the book at the wall. I could not handle more than one book with no answers. Thank god some of them were answered.

For the most part the plot moved along pretty steadily. I get a very Bourne series feel from these books. He is all confused about who he is, many many people are after him and trying to kill him. He must clear his name and get his memory back blah blah. You get the answer to like 2 questions raised in the first book. Kinda. I wont say which ones because it will ruin it for you but know they are coming. One of them really isn’t all that hard, it was a bit too easy, despite a bit of misdirection. We get a lot more of “I love my country and God” talk in this one which had more tuning out a bit, but its obviously a serious about fighting terrorists so I suppose that’s to be expected.

Where the story gets interesting to me is that we actually get to meet people that are not trying to kill him/take him to prison in the present rather than just him remembering them from his last day of memory. I found his friendly really funny. There was a section where they were watching a friend do something and just kept repeating “Hes gonna die.” I don’t know why but it was funny to me. It wasn’t to our main character Charlie, but it was to me. After all the stuff we watch him go through the situation with his friends is easy.

Charlie’s relationship with Beth isn’t the big romantic thing to me as it is played out to be in the book. Its actually kinda boring, specially since Charlie doesn’t even remember it. It is just your standard high school fling so far. Maybe it will change when Charlie remembers the past year.

Now our main character Charlie kind of annoyed me this book. So many of the things he does are very super human and he doesn’t seem them as super human at all. To me he is a bit full of himself, he doesn’t question really any of the things he does. A lot of things also just magically happen to him to make it work out. Though I’m sure things like that happen, I just couldn’t get into them in this story. Charlie also is kind of dumb, he says some things that instantly clicked in my head as the answer or as something funky or wrong but it took someone who is so super humanly surviving the way he is just way too long to work out sometimes. Those things should never have been in question/accepted!

So yeah. This book fell a bit flat for me, but I got some new things that were exciting/interesting and fun to read about. I think I will pick up the third book really soon because I really still want to know what the hell is going on.

Leave a Reply

