Book Review – The Fault In Our Stars

9781742535203

Title: The Fault In Our Stars

Author: John Green

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Length: 206

Rating: 4 Star

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

If you don’t want spoilers for this book, I suggest you move on because there will be spoilers here.

Now I think most of you in bookland have read this book already and there isn’t really much else anyone can say about it because its been talked about alot and there is even a movie coming out soon, but I’m going to talk about it anyway because I want to give me two-cents!

I had to wait a rather long time after finishing this book to be able to start the review. I didn’t really have any words that made sense. I still don’t really have any words that make sense but here it goes.

This book was really heartbreaking. This book had me on the brink of tears multiple times. Then at the end I cried. This book was really quite heart breaking.

I go into this story knowing its about a girl who is dying of cancer. So in my mind the entire time I’m thinking its going to end with her dying because I have not read/listened/watched any reviews about the book cause I knew I was going to get to it eventually. So I was completely devastated that the person I thought was going to die the entire time is still alive by the end of the book and one of the only healthy people you meet at the beginning, my favourite character, the one most filled with life, dies instead. You also know that our main character is still going to die at some point probably not that long after the book ends.

Hazel is a pretty good character. I can’t even begin to think about what its like knowing that your life has an expiration date that is years before most people an having to live with things constantly helping you breathe. Im sure that would make you grow up faster than most people, and make her kind of harsh and disconnected from everyone. She was the character I was suspecting and welcomed for this kind of story. The only thing I didn’t really like about her or the other child/teen characters is that they seemed a bit too wise at times. Just because they are dying doesn’t make them wise…

I loved Augustus so so so much. He is really what made the book for me despite the fact I think his name is ridiculous. Pretty much all the lines that I highlighted in my kindle were from him and because I loved them. I think my favourite section of the whole book was when he was describing the swing set.

“I must see this old swing set of tears immediately.”

“That is one sad goddamned swing set.”

“We gotta do something about this frigging swing set,” he said. “I’m telling you, it’s ninety percept of the problem.”

I also loved the fact that they gave it to the person they gave it to because he said I just want them to go outside when he was talking about his children. And the book is full of funny lines like that which kind of makes it more heart breaking. Damn you good writing and characters, why must you be in such a sad book? My hear broken when I heard that Augustus was going to die.

After I read the book I went straight away to go watched the trailer. I can’t believe how good it looks, I am so excited! I will read this book again and I plan on buying a paper version of this book so I can proudly display it on my shelf.

One thought on “Book Review – The Fault In Our Stars

Leave a Reply

