Book Review – City Of Ashes

761466_1309444726888_full[1]

Title: City of Ashes [The Mortal Instruments 2]

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Supernatural, Romance

Length: 453

Rating: 4 Star

Book Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I liked this book more than the first one.

And can I just take a random moment to say how much I love the cat Church? They talk to him like he understands and he leads people around the house. He is just awesome. But then again, I like most cats in books if they get a little bit of special personality traits.

Now onto the things people actually care about haha.

Unlike the first book I enjoyed the writing style in this one much more. I think Clare has really gotten into the flow of how the story and all the characters should go and say and all that stuff. It just makes the story easy to follow and enjoyable to read.

I know I said that I thought Simon brought out the best in Clary, that does not mean in anyway shape or form that I think they should be dating. What the hell do you think you are doing Clary???? The only time the two of you dating would be accept is if you were both like 50 and had made a deal to be together if you could find no one else, even then you never know. Its not that hard to find someone better boyfriend material that Simon. Why do people always assume just cause people have a good friendship that means they should date? Even people in real life tend to do this. Its annoying. The relationship was very forced and thought I was a bit upset when Simon basically died, I was jumping up and down with joy because it meant the relationship would end. But of course he didn’t die, but thank you Simon for coming to your senses and ending it. It made me very happy.

We got to meet knew people in this book. I both liked and hated these people. We got a good meeting of the fey and their queen, and anyone by now should know that I like a good/cunning/different kind of evil villain. I got this in her, she’s a bit of bitch, but I love how she messes with their minds. It was pretty funny. And it made Simon sad haha. But then we also met the Inquisitor from the Clave. Oh my god I don’t think I have hated a character this hard in a really long time. Everytime anyone even just mentioned her I instantly become furious. She is just crazy, and not the crazy I like. She is the kind of crazy that hasnt actually lost her marbles but acts upon things that have no basis because thats the way she wants it to be for her own pathetic reasons, despite how wrong she is proven to be.

Other than that there were some really great moments in the book. One of which I feel is worth mentioning is that both Jace and Clary come into their own powers which have been mentioned as a possibility in the first book. Clary really begins to shine because of this. She gets a kind of new confidence that makes her more appealing and enjoyable as a character. I didn’t really get this feeling with Jace because you always knew he was kind of more superhuman then the others. Still enjoyable though.

So yes, I would recommend this book to anyone who likes the supernatural, some good action, and is interested in reading a series rather than a trilogy.

Till Next Time…

Leave a Reply

