Book Review – Insurgent

insurgent

Title: Insurgent [Divergent 2]

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance, Action

Length: 525

Rating: 5 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3

Movie Reviews: 1, 2, 3

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

This book is just as a good as the first one but has a much darker tone to it. Things are also constantly happening rather than it all happening at the end of the book.

Rollercoaster feelings happened. I have a change of heart about many characters. By the end I didn’t like Tori because I found her to be way more crazy than I originally thought, I totally despised Caleb with a passion. I wanted to ripped his eyes out and peel his skin from his body, one little bit at a time. While he was a awake and feel all this happening. Yeah thats the kind of hatred he produced. There was also a person who was an enemy who I was like, I don’t know if I can hate you anymore. I also actually fell in love Christina in this book. Which you think would have been hard to do because of what happened with Will and Tris and how I found her a bit iffy in the first one, but the whole thing with Will kind of brought them closer together I couldnt not love her after that. That scene where she forgives Tris for what happens to Will brought me to tears it was so beautiful. We also see Edward again, and oh my god is he bonkers, and we get much awaited deaths, and I took sooo much joy from at least one of them.

Tris and Four’s relationship was rocky in this story. I think this annoyed some people but not me. Who could have a solid relationship with what is happening in their world and with everything they are going through. Though I will agree that most of their issues wouldn’t be happening if they actually talked to each other and that was a bit annoying. That being said these issues do not over power the rest of the story time which was refreshing.

Tris’ struggle with dealing with the death of her parents and how things ended with Will is just so sad. I feel so bad for her. So much sadness. She is struggling so hard and Four tries to help her but he doesn’t really help much and she kind of goes on a “I shouldn’t be alive” stint. She can’t even hold a gun anymore. Thats a series issue in her world.

I think one of my favourite scenes would have to be one where the Dauntless return home and play a game of paintball. Everyone is just so happy and getting along for a change and it was just a really good contrast to all the horrible things. We needed a pick me up from the sadness. Another good scene which lightens up the of the book is when Tris is drugged with the Amity ‘happy’ drug they put in their bread to keep everyone calm and mellow. Tris gets injected with way too much and is totally loopy cause of it. Tris on the drug, and how Tris reacted when it finally wore off was great.

My next favourite scene spoiler would have to be when Tris is going through the simulations Jeanine set up for her, trying to win the battle and be able to trick her divergent mind into forgetting she is in a simulation. In what I think is one of the last ones Jenean put her through (there were other before hand) she snaps out of one having to do with Tobias and says “You’ll have to do better than that Jeanine,” and Jeanine totally flips out because she can’t understand how she keeps beating them. It was a glorious moment because really, who wants Jeanine to be happy? End spoiler.

At the end of the book we get left with a huge cliff hanger than completely changes the course in which the entire story was going and can only lead to serious changes happening in the next book. I can’t wait to start! And I demamd that everyone go read these books. They are just so awesome, and the movie is coming out/is out in some places and you should always do the books before the movie!

Till Next Time…

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Insurgent

  1. I desperately need to finish this series. I read the first one before it came out, and so I had a long wait before the 1st and the 2nd and never got around to it.. now the third one is out and I haven’t even touched the 2nd one. So many books, so little time! Great review :)

Leave a Reply

