Top Ten Tuesday – Unique Books

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created over at Broke and the Bookish where every Tuesday, Top Ten things of anything are listed. Todays Top Ten things are:

Top Ten Unique Books I Have Read

shippingnews1. The first book that comes to mind would have to be The Shipping News by Annie Proulx. The way this book was written was really different to most books I have read. It took me a bit to get into it but once I did I loved the style.

 

 

71aIaqzVp9L._SL1246_2. The next one I think I’m going to put up is A House Without Mirrors by Marten Sanden. Though the idea of entering another world through cupboards was done in The Lion The Witch and the Wardrobe, in this story we go into a wardrobe filled with mirrors and end up in another world that is a mirror image to the one you came from, but inside you discover things about yourself and those around you. So interesting for a childrens book.

cover_allegiant3. Im giving this place to Allegiant by Veronica Roth. Those who haven’t read it yet move on to the next one! Spoiler alter! For having the courage and the balls to kill off the main character.

 

 

Poision Princess4. Poison Princess by Kresley Cole. The idea of teenages embodying the major arcana cards, having their own special powers because of it, and having to fight each other until only one is left standing is an awesome idea and very unique!

 

 

cvr9781591169154_9781591169154_hr5. Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori. I don’t know if this is just a cultural difference or something, but I personally find the plot of this series unique. What kind of girl goes into a school then just pretends to be a guy and joins a club of guys which have dates with girls at school, for which the girls pay? Further more, what kind of school lets that kind of thing happen?

 

northernlights6. I kind of feel like I am breaking the rules by putting this book/series in since I haven’t read it yet, but I have seen the movie and know the general gist of it I am going to put it in anyway. This place goes to The Northern Lights by Philip Pullan. I think peoples souls being outside their body and living in the form of an animal is a really interesting idea and concept. I really need to hurry up and pick up the books.

 

ha626017. Vampire Knight by Matsuri Hino. Though vampires are not something new I thought the idea of having different levels of vampires was a very interesting idea. The higher up you go, the more powerful and magical the vampires are.

 

 

9780316068048_custom-s6-c108. The Host by Stephanie Meyer. I don’t know if its just me or not since I don’t really read science fiction all that much, but I thought the idea of an alien concious and a human concious living in the same body was very interesting and unique.

 

 

newesfromthedead9. Newes From The Dead by Mary Hooper. I thought reading the before and after chop up and put together of a story about a girl who survived being hanged was really interesting.

 

 

978174253520310. Though it may not be for everyone, but for me, The Fault In Our Stars by John Green was unique. I hadn’t read a story where virtually every character was sick and going to die.

 

 

So there is my list. As always if you would like a copy of the book just click on the cover and it shall take you to a copy of the book.

Till Next Time…

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Unique Books

  1. That’s not much of a spoiler alert for the wandering eye (re: Allegiant). I was actually quite fine with Roth’s decision to take that route — it was just the build-up to that point that had me thinking otherwise.

    I have plenty of friends who loved Ouran! I’ve only seen part of the anime (re: peer pressure) but the humour in it wasn’t too shabby.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

