Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Confessions

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created over at Broke and the Bookish where every Tuesday, Top Ten things of anything are listed. Todays Top Ten things are:

Top Ten Bookish Confessions

I actually have my doubts about if I can think of ten, but lets give it a go shall we?

  1. I have never read the Harry Potter series. I don’t think I even finished watching the last movie, I just kind of walked off to do something else and didn’t pause it and then never watched it again. Its not cause I don’t like it I do, but yeah…
  2. I adore my Kindle. I was always pro physical book, still am, I love being able to display my books. But my god I love my kindle at the same time. It lets me take notes and it means I don’t have to carry my actual books around with me.
  3. I nearly cry when I lend out books. Im not joking. If I lend a book and it comes back in worst off condition than what I lent it in, like a finger print on a hard cover or a crack in the spine of a paperback, it totally freaks me out. I feel the tears and think I just better go buy a new one. AND I DON”T KNOW HOW TO STOP LENDING ONCE I HAVE STARTED LENDING TO SOMEONE. I have just stopped telling people when I get books and hope they don’t ask.
  4. I judge people on books they like. I say this in the least judgey way possible. If I find out someone likes Fifty Shades of Grey or something I will judge them to like books like that, and will only recommend them books that I consider to be on that same level. AKA, not a high one.
  5. I don’t like using the library. I don’t like reading a book, loving it, then having to get it back. I would much rather not go. So I don’t. The last time I used one I was in primary school and I seriously considered never returning a book cause I wanted it. I chose never to go back rather than steal.
  6. I smell my books. I love picking them up, opening and taking a good old wiff. Stuff new car smell, though I love it, I would rather have books smell.
  7. I can’t spell to save myself. If my life depended on spelling things, I would be dead. And this is coming from someone who wants to be a writer in her spare time. Spell check is the most beautiful thing ever.
  8. I was in special reading/spelling classes in school. Right up until like year 9, then I joined all the advance ones. But seriously I was years bellow where I should have been. I couldn’t read forever, and then with spelling I would read the word I was trying to write and not even notice that I did it wrong. I am pretty sure I have dyslexia. Once I worked out how to read though I didn’t really stop.
  9. I will always like Twilight. I know this conflicts with my number 4, but its sad that I should feel shame about this. These books though not the best were awesome at the time and they will hold a special place in my heart. The movies just tainted it.
  10. I enjoy a good trashy romance. You know the ones, with the ugly half naked people on the front. I don’t know why but god they suck me in. There are a lot of bad ones, but the ones I like I would put in my favourites pile.

And I actually made it to 10. It was a struggle thinking of things. I could probably think of more, if I sat here a really long time. So share your lists with me so I can see your dirty reading secrets!

Till Next Time…

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Confessions

    • I know, I am lending to someone I used to trust but she has hence gotten lax with the care she treats my books and I am unsure now as to how to tell her this without coming off as a crazy person haha

  1. I say, don’t feel ashamed about liking Twilight. They definitely were not the best books but I can totally get what you said about it being a great experience back then. I’m now wondering what if they weren’t made into movies.. would people have a different take on it? Thanks for sharing.

    My TTT

  2. I love my kindle too. It doesn’t take away the magic from a physical book but it’s just so damn handy. It’s great for journeys or holidays and the light on my Paperwhite is adjustable meaning I can read when my husband is asleep (the bedside table light is so bright and sometimes disturbs him if I read a physical book).

  3. I hate lending books to people too.When I was still a kid,I used to lend my HP books to many other kids,but they didn’t treat them well.
    Now I never tell anyone how many books I have or which books I’m buying.

    I don’t like using the library as well,as I want to build my own personal one in the future.Besides I like to come back to books I’ve read and check them out.Having them near means that,although I’ve finished reading them,they are still a part of me.I know,that’s weird.

  4. I had never read Harry for the longest time (except book one…my usual reading pattern with series) and I’m a school librarian. Finally I bowed to pressure and read them all…one after the other.

    Here’s My Blogging Confessions!

  5. I adore my kindle too. So much that I own multiple kindles (a 3rd Gen, a Fire, and a Paperwhite). I don’t cry when I loan my books out but the people I loan to are typically responsible with my books. I’ve only had two returned to me messed up and both times the person volunteered to buy me a new one. I would definitely have to let someone know if they’re messing up my books–or stop loaning to them. I also judge people by the books they like…also in the least judgy way possible. :) HA! Great post!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  6. Hmm, we differ in a lot of our bookish confessions. I love lending out my books (I feel like I’m building a mini-library), and I use the Kindle app when I have to for ARCs or books that are only published via Kindle, but it’s more of a necessity for me than anything. I do like Twilight as well, though!

  7. +JMJ+

    I didn’t like Twilight until this year, when it surprised me by totally winning my heart! I’m actually really happy that I love it now, and I don’t let anyone take that away from me. That experience has helped me to be less judgmental of other people’s reading. You never know why someone likes a particular book unless you ask . . . and sometimes the reason will be surprising!

    This doesn’t mean, however, that I’m now the most understanding person in the world! But these days, I get “judgey” mostly toward people who say they won’t read something because they’ve already decided it will be dumb.

    • I know what you mean, if I like a book and people don’t want to read it, it can be depressing. However, life is too short to be reading books you are not going to like so i forgive them for it.

Leave a Reply

