Book Review – Saint Anything

saint anything

Title: Saint Anything

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Length: 417

Rating: 3 Star rounded down from 3.5

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Peyton, Sydney’s charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton’s increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?

Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I was sent this book from by the wonderful people over at Penguin. Thank you so so much! This is another book I probably would not have picked up if not for you guys. You are always making me expand my reading base and I love you for it.

Contemporary books are a huge thing right now and each of them seem to be taking on their own little twist in telling their stories. This books little twist is that is is on the more normal side of lifes drama. Yes, it has a character in there that goes to jail, but each family has its own drama that is just as much an issue as something else is to another family. You cannot compare dramas if you haven’t experienced it. But its more the after effect, how the little things function from there on out.

I really liked this book. I did. I found the writing style to be super easy and quick to get through, and I the characters to me were all really well developed. I connected with Sydney and her conflicted emotions on all the situations she was going through. I completely understood all her feelings and every action she did. I also completely agreed with everyone else in their thoughts and actions too except her parents. I can understand her mother, and think her dad was a bit useless right up until the end, but I still think her mum was just crazy. An understandable crazy and a needed drive for the overall plot but still. I loved every member of the Chathams family. Layla is an awesome friend.

The plot though nice was where this story lost me a bit. It was slow and for me, just too mellow. Remember that comment I made about not being able to compare situations unless you have had them yourself? I am in that wonderful situation where I can. A member of my family, one in the inner circle, went to jail for six months for use, making and selling of drugs. The before, during and after of my life were greatly affected by this as well as for people outside my family. This person took someone who was pretty much a stable clean person, put them onto drugs which then destroyed their life, which they then ended. Something they had to do twice because the first time just left them in a wheelchair. Unlike Sydney though, this wasn’t something I felt much guilt over.

So as you can see, the plot for me was just a tame reflection of some of the things I have gone through so to me the plot just wasn’t gripping enough. I can fully see this book being more interesting to others though so I suggest it to anyone who likes a bit of contemporary.

 

Till Next Time…

Leave a Reply

