Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – Hour 19

So it has been a moment since we talked. I finished by first book, and I started a new one and found it so bad I was finding it really to stay awake. So after an hour I dropped it and picked up another book, but the damage was done and after seeing my page count drop after another hour I decided that I should sleep for a couple of hours because at this point I had already been awake for 23 hours and I wasn’t going to do myself any reading favours. I kept track of how much I was reading each hour to show myself this. I got between 2-3 hours of sleep and after grabbing myself another V, reading a bit and eating some food I actually feel really refreshed and reading to roll! Insomnia can be a good read-a-thon prepper apparently.

Finished Reading:

I took a small break to write some notes down for myself when it came to writing a review for this book. With how sleepy my brain was I don’t know how useful they will be, but more useful than just trying to remember by thoughts of that sleepy time.

Books Dropped:

I just couldn’t get into the writing style I think. I found it very rough and disjointed in the way it was present and in the way the characters were speaking to each other. I can easily permanently remove it from my collection after the hour of struggled reading.

Currently Reading:

Thus far I am not enjoying A Court of Frost and Starlight as much as I thought I would. I had heard that this was a popular opinion with this book but people could see why it was needed for the spin off series in the world. I haven’t gotten to the part yet where I can actually see why it is needed, but I am a good way through it and I will probably finish it after another solid 2 hours of reading. I am taking a bit of a break right now to Focus on some of the mini challenges, but that doesn’t mean I have to stop reading so I put on my audiobook of The Name of the Wind. I don’t know if doing other things while listening to this chunk of a book, I may miss a few important things, but  guess I will see how confused I get with it later on.

Total Pages: 565

The last few hours haven’t been as productive because of the audiobook and because the text isn’t huge in the new books as it was in The Rest of us Just Live here. But I know my average page per hour is 50 so I am not mad about it. It felt better to be crushing my regular reading page count with the huge text, but I don’t think I have any other books I desperately want to read with huge text.

Mid-Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now?

I don’t know if its because I am only half listening to it, or if the audiobook just isn’t for me but I am having trouble fully falling into the story.

 

 

 

2. How many books have you read so far?

Just the one but I am really happy about it. I will at least finish two during the read-a-thon and that gives me a good feeling.

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

Whatever book calls to me after I finish A Court of Frost and Starlight!

4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

I had to sleep for a little bit which was probably better the long one. We are currently having a hail storm so I took a moment to enjoy the weather. Also writing up these and taking time to the challenges is a bit of a interruption but the audiobook is allowing me keep reading and join in the fun and games.

5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

Compared to last one I joined in or even by the looks at it the last Dewey’s, this read-a-thon seems to be running completely differently to how they normally do. I can’t decided if I like the more relaxed do the challenges when you want way or not. I like having the time, but I also liked the challenge of having a new challenge every hour with only a couple of hours to complete them in. Prizes also seem to be less of thing this time around. That not the worst thing, but other than actually staying awake for 24 hours the challenge has sort of been taken from read-a-thon.

 

Till Next Time. . .

Leave a comment