Book Review – Fallen

fallen-lauren-kate

Title: Fallen [Fallen 1]

Author: Lauren Kate

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Length: 332

Rating: 4 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

The first thing that grabbed me about this story is that they are not vampires! Yay! These days I don’t read a lot of books just because they are about vampires because there are so many it can get hard to weed out the good from the bad. So fallen angels was a nice change of pace.

The fact that Luce and Daniel have loved each other over and over again is played up and repeated a bit too much for me. I get that its a major point in the story but it got a bit boring to me. This may be because this is my third time reading the book though… I don’t think I cared the first time.

Daniel slipped up about this fact a bit too much for me as well. He has been  doing this for a really long time, I find it a bit hard to believe that he was that stupid that he hadn’t learnt to keep it hidden by now… The fact that it is brought up that he can’t tell her things for her own safety only makes this fact made it more annoying to me. I think Daniel is kind of dumb though. He still acts like a teenager but he never really was one so I don’t get why he is so dumb.

If I was Luce I totally would have gone for Cam in this book far more than Daniel, he was so nice for the most part and hot. She could have left him when he turned out evil and then gone for Daniel. Luce I also think is a bit stupid and a little full of herself, but she isn’t aware of this at all. That being said though I didn’t mind being in her head. She is nice enough.

I also loved some of the other characters that we meet and they keep the story interesting. That and the fact that this is all taking place in a reform school were kids wear things like ankle bracelets. Nice touch I must say.

One thought on “Book Review – Fallen

Leave a comment