Book Review – Across The Universe

9780141333663

Title: Across the Universe [Across the Universe 1]

Author: Beth Revis

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Romance

Length: 398

Rating: 3 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder. 

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I don’t really know what I was expecting when I entered this book. I don’t normally read science fiction, its not that I don’t like it its just I think I’m fussy about which ones I read. I thought because of all the hype with this book that I would enjoy it. The idea behind the story sounded great. So when I was done I was a bit underwhlemed.

Our main characters are Elder and Amy. Amy was a fine character I suppose. I feel bad for her, the situation she has been placed is is truly awful. I know I would hate and would probably act as stupid as her at times because of the frustration. That being said that doesn’t mean I liked to read about it. Some of the things she thought and did were just painful. At one point she nearly wakes up her father because she is a selfish cow and wants him and I was basically screaming at the book all kind of horrible names and words because I couldn’t believe she was actually going to be that stupid. Thank God she didn’t go through with it at the end. I would have stopped reading the book if it had of happened because I would of hated her too much.

I don’ know how I feel about Elder. I understand he grew up in a very different world and was taught very different ways of thinking to was myself, and Amy, think, so I try to be understanding about certain things but its difficult. I like him at times but some of the things he says and does are just… bleh.

The love between these guys is really really weird. Its not great but kind of works. This I put mostly to how spastic the world Elder lives in and how he has been taught to think and do things, however it also feels very very forced at times. I was completely shocked and appalled that it was still there in the end. Elder does some things that Amy only finds out about at the end of the book, awful things, and she just forgives him straight away. I think it lost a star just because of this. I mean, it wouldn’t have killed them to have Amy hate him at the end of book and MAYBE if you were desperate to have them love each other fix things in the next one.

In terms of plot it was ok. I worked out who our bad guy was pretty much the first time he popped up in the book so I found that very sad. There wasn’t really much suspense left once I did that. I worked it out way to early in the book. The only thing that I hadn’t figured out was why he was going all the things he did.  The world was really interesting though and at times the book did have me going and I was wrapped. I was really sad when one of the characters dies, they were one of the things I really liked about the book.

So yeah. It was ok but I really don’t think its worth all the hype I have heard. Im really interested to see how they possibly fix the things I hated in this book and where things go from here.

Leave a comment