Book Review – Spirit Bound

Image

Title: Spirit Bound [Vampire Academy 5]

Author: Richelle Mead

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal (Vampires)

Length: 489

Rating: 5 Star

Book Series Reviews: 1234, 5, 6

Related Series: Bloodlines

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong…

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s-and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he’s out there, somewhere.

She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and now he is hunting her. And this time he won’t rest until Rose joins him… forever.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

As far as theme and plot go, the start of this book seemed to go really slowly. Granted, serious stuff takes place but it happens steadily so I myself was not swept away with it. I would like to point out though that perhaps my feelings for how the pacing and stuff like that may be altered because I have read the series before and when it comes to major things in books (this means like who killed who what lead to what blah blah blah, I will forget things like their favourite colour and stuff along those lines) I generally remember everything that happens in the book regardless of how long it has been since I read it. Though it can happen, it can also be difficult to be as overwhelmed by plot and theme points when you know what is coming all the time. However, for at least the first half of the book I feel my lack of emotion was more to do with how it was written, because I became much more caught up in the second half of the book.

Even though I have that warning there before the warning even starts, I’m going to say it again now. I’m going to be talking about things that will totally be serious spoilers and could therefore destroy the book for you.

The moment I became more interested in what was happening didn’t happen until the fight that lead to Dimitri becoming his old self again, well physically anyway. This sparks a whole new level of character development between pretty much every single character in the book. The only one that really wasn’t effected by this was Eddie, who pretty much drops off the face of the planet after this point. So before I start talking about everyone else I should talk about him first. During a point in this book, Rose totally betrays Eddies trust and they pretty much have a huge falling out. If they ever get back to the same level of friendship again I will be surprised. I just add this as a notch on the ‘Rose will plow over anyone who gets in her way and barely look back’ belt. I like her, but God, she only ever has three people on her mind, and one of them is herself.

Moving on now to people who still happen in the books. Lissa and Dimitri develop a relationship now, where they didn’t really have one at all to begin with. She takes on this motherly protection of Dimitri and he looks upon her now as a goddess who freed him from hell. This new relationship, though understandable, seriously ticks me off and gets under my skin. These new outlooks they have for each other seriously affect the way they treat and deal with Rose. Lissa though still interested in her puts Dimitri at the top of her list of things to care about, regardless of how she may be torturing Rose in the process. Dimitri on the other hand has sworn her off completely. Though I get why they may act this way, someone has to look out for Dimitri and he is all filled with guilt and what not, and Rose is kind of a bitch, I think they both need to be punched in the face just a little bit. They are the only two other people that fill Rose’s mind, and they have thrown her off like a soggy towel to care for each other when they never even really used to speak. Specially Dimitri. Regardless of any guilt he may be feeling and the fact that Lissa did the final act of restoring him, Rose did huge, losing every other friend along the way kind of stuff, to get to the point where Lissa could help him. I personally think the guilt should make him want to be with her more, he has a lot of stuff to make up for.

All this also effects poor poor Adrian. Rose keeps tossing him back and forth because she has no idea what the hell is going on with Dimitri and she wants to be with him if Dimitri is out of the picture. I get this, but I like Adrian more than Rose, though I do like her, and I am going to take his side. Everyone treats him like dirt most the time, and he doesn’t deserve the way Rose is treating him. Rose and Dimitri belong together, its just a fact, and poor Adrian is getting hurt cause he is looking for love in a place that is just a lost cause.

The story ends on pretty much the biggest cliff hanger. Dimitri turning evil really has nothing on this ending because you get an idea of whats coming in the next book. With this ending however you don’t get that. I seriously suggest having the next book on hand because I don’t think you will want to stop reading until you get an idea of where things are going next.

Leave a Reply

