Book Review – Bloodlines

Bloodlines-BIG1

Title: Bloodlines [Bloodlines 1]

Author: Richelle Mead

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Rating: 4 Star

Book Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Related Book Series: Vampire Academy

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Blood doesn’t lie…

Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty – a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning…

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I have been really excited about this series for ages. The only reason I hadn’t picked any of them up earlier is because I couldn’t get the in the same sizeof my Vampire Academy books. Seeings as it looks like that they are never going to come out in that size, I settled for getting them in a size half a cm smaller. Though I enjoyed it it fell a star short of what I was expecting.

Now I have read alot of reviews that people haven’t liked our main character Sydney because she wasn’t a kick arse and kill then ask questions character like our Rose was. But I think this is stupid. We met Sydney in the other series and she wasn’t that way then, so she wasn’t going to be (nor should she be) that way in the series. Sure she wont win any hand to hand battles, probably ever, but she is strong in her own way. She keeps her head when other people would probably break down, and when she knows that she can do something she goes out and does it. She is more uptight than Rose which makes her a bit less interesting, but I still like her and see serious development in her future. There were hints that she was going to become some kind of witch type person, so I wait to see how that unfolds.

Adrian. One of the main reasons I picked up this book. He is just as lovely as I remembered. The bits where I smiled or laughed out loud and had serious emotions all revolved around Adrian. So fellow fans, you will not be disappointed. There are hints that he and our vampire hating Sydney are going to become a love item. I root for this, she would be good for him from what I have seen thus far. It is also happening gradually, there are barely any moments of what could be love happening between these two in this book. Thank god! A quick love would not happen between these two.

When it came to the other characters we have met before I feel like their personalities were not upheld and have been altered. Rose seemed way too nice and mushy to be herself. Eddie though has always been a watch dog, the way he speaks is different and I don’t feel the same way about it. Perhaps its because he is on the job… I hope he gets better. Jill is just as boring and really kind of pathetic as I remember except I have to put up with her alot more. I hope she gets better… I also have to point out just how many guys fall in love with her. Where the story was great with Adrian and Sydney, it dropped the ball when it comes to the boring and whiney Jill. Three different guys are in love with her in this book. Sigh.

I liked the storyline for the most part. It was nice to get a a different environment and perspective on things that are happening in this world. Alot of things that Sydney picks up on I doubt Rose would have noticed or thought about. I was not a fan about Adrian and Jill being Bonded though. I could see it coming from the beginning and it wasn’t a good lack of surprise. Other than that though I am pretty excited for the rest of the series. Yay for new and exciting adventures!

Leave a comment