Book Review – The Last Things I Remember

Last Thing I Remember

Title: The Last Thing I Remember [The Homelanders 1]

Author: Andrew Klavan

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Adventure

Length: 336

Rating: 4 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

Charlie West just woke up in someone else’s nightmare.

He’s strapped to a chair. He’s covered in blood and bruises. He hurts all over. And a strange voice outside the door just ordered his death.

The last thing he can remember, he was a normal high-school kid doing normal things–working on his homework, practicing karate, daydreaming of becoming an air force pilot, writing a pretty girl’s number on his hand. How long ago was that? Where is he now? Who is he really?

And more to the point . . . how is he going to get out of this room alive?

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I have to give it to Klavan, I have read three different books of his so far and they are all written very differently. You can kind of feel a hint of Klavan in each of them, but for the most part I wouldn’t have guessed he wrote them all. Well done!

Now this book was pretty interesting. Many situations arise which no one in their right mind would really would want to be in. Throw in the fact that our main character can’t remember a thing. Charlie went to bed happy and woke up tied up and battered from being tortured with many people trying to kill him or lock him up. This is all very interesting, watching him have no clue as to why he has to keep trying to get out of situations that make no sense.

But if you wanted answers in this book, don’t hold your breath. Things happen but not in the sense where the storyline really moves anywhere. By the end he still knows nothing and is still trying to get out of things he doesn’t understand. Will answer be given in the next book? Part of me kinda doubts it but I will see. There are four books after all and this one revealed nothing.

A downside to the story for me is that our main character is so prim and proper. He is the regular good boy. I half expect him to turn out to be a secret agent or something along those lines and he just forgot about everything somehow. Probably to do with the torture. But anyway his goodie goodie ways kind of annoyed me. He was all about his country and god and never giving up. It was kind of hard to swallow it all the time. Now I can understand believing in a higher power and liking the place you live, but I have never been one to crazy over either so when others do it it bores me. Thus far our main character is boring despite all the stuff hes going through.

But despite his boring personality and things pretty much ending in the same place except he isnt tied to a chair, I look forward to the next one. I need answers much like Charlie but at least I just have to look at my shelf to get them.

Leave a comment