Book Review – Allegiant

cover_allegiant

Title: Allegiant [Divergent 3]

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance, Action

Length: 526

Rating: 5 Star

Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3

Movie Reviews: 1, 2, 3

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories. 

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love. 

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Now I am commanding all people who have not read the book yet to leave this post. Good bye! This a spoiler filled post and I will not have the story ruined for you.

Have the people who haven’t read it yet left? If not well you were fully warned.

Out of all the books this is probably the most serious ones. It was kind of disturbing to find out that all their lives were just some experiment the government set up to try and get everyones genes back to the way they should be. Plus the fact that they were all being watched 24/7. Just so creepy. The people who went in their made that choice, but they wiped their memories and then they became new people who didn’t make that choice, let alone all the people who were born there after, no one had a right to treat them that way. It creeped me out so much that I had to put it down quite often.

Because of how I felt about the whole being watched thing I thought it was really wrong at the end of the book that our lovely characters decided to wipe the minds of the government people who were running the experiment. It was a bit hypocritical of them.

While I loved Christina in this book and couldn’t believe there was a time when I didn’t like her, Tobias seriously pissed me off to begin with. This whole “damaged” thing he got labelled with by the government because his genes aren’t right seriously messed with his head and he just walked around being stupid and all why me for agesIt made him do some really stupid stuff which ended completely devastatingly and I hope he feels just crap about it forever.

That being said I am so glad that he and Tris worked their shit out in this book because I wouldn’t want him to feel that bad about the things he did if they hadn’t of.

Because you see, and here is the big big spoiler so I will say it again that anyone who hasn’t read should just leave now, Tris dies. Oh my god I cried when I finally accepted that it actually happened. That last scene between her and Tobias as beautiful, and Tris’ death was beautiful in its own way. Her personality was leading up the point that lead to her death so I saw that coming, but I was so sure she was going to come back for the longest time. The way she saw her mother and she embraced Tris, I was like her mum totally didn’t die after all she is coming back. But she didn’t and the last thing she got to ‘experience’ was a loving and consoling moment with her mother. Tobias and Christina’s reactions were just shattering.

The writing style of the book annoyed me to begin with. We have gone through the first two books just in Tris’ head and I wasn’t sure that I liked seeing things from Tobias’ perspective. There wasn’t enough distinction between their two minds for my liking and I kept forgetting whoes head I was in at the time. I got used to it though and by the end I understood why it was written that way. I thought it was because Tobias was being stupid but it was because Tris wasn’t going to be around for the whole book. At the beginning of every chapter we got told whoes head we were in, and after Tris died and Tobias accepted that it had actually happened, we stopped getting someones name at the beginning of the new chapter because there was only one option left. I thought this was an awesome technique because I didn’t believe that Tris was dead until I stopped seeing names, thats when I accepted it.

So yes, I loved this book even though it wasn’t at all what I was expecting when I started the first one and it wasn’t my favourite out of all of them I still really really enjoyed it. Roth really took me on a journey and kept throwing me punches I hadn’t seen coming. So go read the series! Its worth it and the movie is out now so read the book before you see it. I haven’t seen the movie yet (Soon!) but I think it looked pretty good.

Till Next Time…

One thought on “Book Review – Allegiant

  1. I had a lot of mixed feeling about this book… I’ve read it three times now and it’s still one of my favorite series but it wasn’t my favorite of the 3.
    I really enjoy reading the reviews of people who felt pretty good about this book… It helps me see it in a better light :)

Leave a comment