Book Review – The Hunger Games

Image

Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian Science Fiction

Length: 454

Rating: 5 Star

Book Series Reviews: 1, 23

Movie Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3

Description/Synopsis:

May the odd be ever in your favour.

Winning will make you famous. Loosing means certain death.

In a dark vision of the near future, twelves boys and girls are forced to appear in the live TV show called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.

When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I loved this book. Though some bits of it were not the most well done, I could not help but caught up in the story and the world.

Im a sucker for dystopian or post-apocalyptic worlds, and if they are done well, which it is here, its just knocks my socks off. The world of the differently struggling and functioning districts controlled by this all mighty Capitol was really interesting. There were some really good little details added to the story about them as well, like how they each had their own style of bread that represented each of them. I also liked the idea of mutated animals to serve a certain purpose.

You don’t get to really meet many characters throughout the book very well, but I liked what I did get to know about each. Of course because the book is from her perspective, you got to know Katniss pretty well. At first she is pretty much described as someone who has it all together because she had to, because she had to grow up too quickly. But you also see cracks in the shell, which I thought was a nice change. While I believe that a girl in her situation could have it all together and be an adult in a younger body, but then I can also see how a girl in her situation could appear completely with it but have moments where the teenager comes through, specially if she has pretty much been handed a death sentence. For the most part she has it all, but then there are moments where she does teenage tantrums and breaks a punch of stuff. I do however that she was a bit too much of an ice queen the rest of the time though. I didn’t really get the feeling that she cared about anything, however I think this had more to do with the writing style however than the character, she did and said a lot of the right stuff, but I just wasnt getting the feelings behind it all. I also thought that she thought too much sometimes. There were parts where I felt that too much information was given that really wasnt given.

Peeta I thought we got a really good look at the kind of person he was, and at the end when they are going home and Katniss is being really a typical confused teenager, I really got the feeling of how crushed he was that everything he thought was actually happening was just a ploy to get them through the games. And even though we did not get to spend a lot of time with Gale, I also felt I know who he is and what he wants. Really, the love triangle that I see coming is one that I dont know how I want it to end up. On one hand Peeta and Katniss share a moment from when she was little and they have had a life altering experience together. On the other we have Gale who has has grown up with and shared many a moment together, though not nearly as significant as being in the games together.

The other characters I felt I met them well enough, but I would have been happier if I had gotten to know a few of them better. I also would have liked to be given other perspectives at some points. Like for the Capitol, what the hell was going on there, what were they thinking? I kind of felt that I was in a black box and new nothing about the people who put me in there or what was on the other side. Im hoping for more information in the next two books.

So all in all I thought the theme, plot and the character were all well done, however the writing style was a bit flat and lacking depth at times.

(On a side note, it has been too long since I have done a review. I had serious issues writing this so I am sorry if its not really up to standards.)

One thought on “Book Review – The Hunger Games

  1. I really like this series. The tyranny of the Capitol and the struggle feel real. It’s not just dystopian for the sake of being dystopian. The dividing into districts reminded me of how some dictator regimes in the real world were structured.

Leave a comment