Book Review – City Of Glass

cityofglass

Title: City of Glass [The Mortal Instruments 3]

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Supernatural, Romance

Lenght: 541

Rating: 5 Star

Book Series Reviews: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

Description/Synopsis:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Review – MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Wow this book was awesome, by far my favourite one so far.

There was never a dull moment in the plot, things were always happening but it still took its moments to make me laugh. Though I worked out a big plot resolving around someone I’m going to call S since I don’t want to ruin it for anyone reading this review, it didn’t bother me because I still questioned if it was true or not right up until the end.

Jace really got under my skin n this book. I barely even noticed how dumb Clary was (most the time, some stuff was too stupid to ignore), because I was too busy wanting to punch Jace in the face. The way he treated Clary at some points was just horrible and pretty much all he does is mope about how he is all filled with demon blood and is evil because of it. All of that being said, I actually really liked the relationship he developed with Simon. Who would have thought that would have happened?

On a side note how bad is Simon’s luck? Is it wrong that I find it really funny? Nah…

Though I loved this book because it had so much happening in it, it did have downsides. One huge thing was TOTALLY given away and I think it was because the author just had so much to think about that she kind of just chucked it in there. This is a bit spoilery so you might want to skip to the next paragraph. In this book we are looking for the third instrument, this mirror. Then we have Clary fall into a poisonous lake which is connected to angels, and which Luke said one of its names had the word mirror in it. That was a serious flaw Clare. Just it being poisonous and connected to angels would have left it open to people guessing. Calling it a mirror was just stupid.

But there are moment like made the feels come out. Yay for Luke and Clary’s mum, I was so happy that things start to kick off for them. When she woke up I was so happy. Her and Clary’s fight was sad but I still liked it. I actually laughed when this happened:

“I was just trying to protect you-”

“Well you did a terrible job!”

I don’t really know why it was funny. Probably because she really did a very terrible, terrible job.I freaked the hell out when Magnus vanished after Clary helped him do something without showing any sign of helping her with her side of the deal. Thank god that worked out. And Spoiler – Max dies. Wow was I sad. Out of everyone to kill though, he was probably a good choice. He was aside character but his death still showed the effect the war had on everyone, and it was kind of a good balance between the good things that were happening in the book. – End Spolier.

I love the ending even though someone who was supposed to have died clearly didnt because they never found the body. It was a great conclusion. I know the story was supposed to end here, and it was a great ending. Im a little bit worried about it continuing. The ending was great, why are you risking staining that? You have a lot to uphold Clare.

One thought on “Book Review – City Of Glass

  1. Pingback: In Which Demigods and Shadowhunters Meet | FanFiction Fridays

Leave a Reply

